Arrow-right Camera

Indy Speeds Explode

By Compiled From Wire Services

Officially or unofficially, it was the fastest day in the history of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Led by Scott Brayton, whose unofficial lap of 234.656 mph was the fastest in Indy history, eight drivers and nine cars broke the 230 barrier on a perfect day for speed.

Just 16 minutes after the historic 2 1/2-mile track opened for the sixth day of practice for the May 28 Indianapolis 500, Arie Luyendyk, the 1990 winner, turned a lap of 234.332.

Brayton, Luyendyk’s teammate who drives an almost identical Lola-Menard, turned a 234.180 at almost the same moment, then increased it 16 minutes later to 234.656.

Official records can be set only during qualifying and in the race.

Others better than 230 were Scott Goodyear at 232.246; Robby Gordon, 231.839; rookie Andre Ribeiro in both of his cars at 231.523 and 230.144; Mauricio Gugelmin, 230.977; Paul Tracy, 230.775 and Teo Fabi, 230.055.

Subscribe to the sports newsletter

Get the day’s top sports headlines and breaking news delivered to your inbox by subscribing here.

You have been successfully subscribed!
There was a problem subscribing you to the newsletter. Double check your email and try again, or email

Powered by Fastenall