Gonzaga releases WCC schedule - SWX Right Now-Sports for Spokane, CdA, Tri-Cities, WA

Gonzaga releases WCC schedule

Photo: Gonzaga Athletics Photo: Gonzaga Athletics

By Gonzaga Athletics
SAN BRUNO, Calif. – The West Coast Conference announced its 2019 men's basketball conference schedule Wednesday. The race for the WCC regular season crown will stretch over a nine-week span, featuring 16 conference games in a new schedule format adopted in May. Conference play is slated to begin on Jan. 3 and will conclude on March 2.
Gonzaga has shared or outright won the WCC regular season title the past six seasons. The Bulldogs will look for the program's 22nd conference title in 2018-19. GU has shared or won 17 conference championships in the last 18 years, and 19 out of the last 21 years.
The Zags open West Coast Conference play at home against Santa Clara on Jan. 5. The Zags then welcome Pacific on Jan. 10.
A road trip to San Francisco follows on Jan. 12. GU hosts Loyola Marymount on Jan. 17, before three consecutive games away from Spokane, beginning at Portland on Jan. 19. The Bulldogs travel to Santa Clara on Jan. 24, before closing the month at BYU on Jan. 31.
The Zags return to the McCarthey Athletic Center for three straight games, starting with San Diego on Feb. 2. Gonzaga then hosts San Francisco (Feb. 7) and Saint Mary's (Feb. 9).  The Bulldogs make a southern California trip at LMU on Feb. 14 and San Diego two days later. After welcoming Pepperdine (Feb. 21), Gonzaga faces BYU on Senior Night on Feb. 23. The Zags cap off the regular season at Pacific and Saint Mary's on Feb. 28 and March 2.
The West Coast Conference Championships will follow March 7-12 at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas.  There is a change in the format there as well, with the top two seeds getting a double bye to the Monday semifinals.
Gonzaga's non-conference schedule, along with game times and television information will be released in the near future.
2018-19 Gonzaga West Coast Conference Schedule

Jan. 5 Santa Clara Spokane
Jan. 10 Pacific Spokane
Jan. 12 San Francisco San Francisco
Jan. 17 Loyola Marymount Spokane
Jan. 19 Portland Portland, OR
Jan. 24 Santa Clara Santa Clara, CA
Jan. 31 BYU Provo, UT
Feb. 2 San Diego Spokane
Feb. 7 San Francisco Spokane
Feb. 9 Saint Mary's Spokane
Feb. 14 Loyola Marymount Los Angeles
Feb. 16 San Diego San Diego, CA
Feb. 21 Pepperdine Spokane
Feb. 23 BYU Spokane
Feb. 28 Pacific Stockton, CA
March 2 Saint Mary's Moraga, CA
March 7-12 West Coast Conference Championships
March 7 First Round Las Vegas
March 8 Second Round Las Vegas
March 9 Third Round Las Vegas
March 11 Semifinals Las Vegas
March 12 Finals Las Vegas
Print Friendly Version
Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 SWXRN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.