Blackhawks Shaw's Disallowed Deliberate Head-Butt Goal - SWX Right Now-Sports for Spokane, CdA, Tri-Cities, WA

Blackhawks Shaw's Disallowed Deliberate Head-Butt Goal

Posted:
Andrew Shaw attempting the header for the game-winner in 2OT. (Photo: AP/Twitter) Andrew Shaw attempting the header for the game-winner in 2OT. (Photo: AP/Twitter)

ANAHEIM, Calif. -- Chicago Blackhawks' forward Andrew Shaw looked like he had the double overtime game-winner when he took a chance on to pull out his inner Abby Wambach and send home a brilliant header into the back of the Anaheim Ducks' net. 

Too bad it was ruled illegal. Shaw's goal didn't count because he deliberately head-butted the puck past the unaware Frederik Andersen. If he had accidentally let the puck bounce off his head it would be fine, but because it was clear he used his soccer skills to score it wouldn't be the gut punch to the Ducks the Blackhawks are hoping to deliver at the Honda Center. 

Chicago went on to score in the third OT period on a Marcus Kruger unassisted goal to even the series at 1-1 before they head home to continue their Western Conference Finals with the Ducks.

Watch the awesome goal in the video player above courtesy of Yahoo and NBCSN.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 SWXRN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.