Whitworth Baseball Team Set to Open Against Millsaps at NCAA Wes - SWX Right Now-Sports for Spokane, CdA, Tri-Cities, WA

Whitworth Baseball Team Set to Open Against Millsaps at NCAA West Regional

(Photo: WU) (Photo: WU)
by Whitworth Athletics 

SPOKANE, Wash. - Whitworth will face Millsaps College at 4:30 p.m. (PDT) on Wednesday, May 13 in the opening round of the 2015 NCAA West Regional held in Tyler, Texas.

Whitworth (28-13) is seeded fourth and will be part of a six-team regional. The third-seeded Millsaps Majors (28-12) received an at-large bid to the tournament. Millsaps, located in Jackson, Miss., is a member of the Southern Athletic Association.

The remainder of the West Regional is composed of host and top-seeded University of Texas-Tyler (34-10), second-seeded Linfield College (30-13), fifth-seeded Trinity (Tex.) University (33-12) and sixth-seeded University of La Verne (24-18).

Texas-Tyler won both the regular season and postseason tournament titles in the American Southwest Conference. The Patriots are the No. 2 team in the West Region poll and ranked No. 24 nationally by D3baseball.com.

Linfield tied with Whitworth for second place in the regular season Northwest Conference standings but went 1-2 at the inaugural NWC Tournament before receiving an at-large bid to the national tournament. The Wildcats are ranked third in the region and No. 19 nationally by D3baseball.com.

Trinity earned an automatic berth to the tournament after coming through the loser's bracket to win the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference tournament title as the tournament's third-seeded team. The Tigers are ranked No. 18 nationally by D3baseball.com

La Verne won the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Tournament to gain an automatic berth to the national tournament. The Leopards entered the conference tournament seeded fourth and went 3-1 to capture the title.

Texas-Tyler and La Verne open the tournament followed by Linfield and Trinity. Whitworth and Millsaps will play the third and final game on Wednesday. Click here for a tournament schedule<http://www.ncaa.com/news/baseball/article/2015-05-11/2015-division-iii-baseball-regionals>.

The Northwest Conference placed three teams in the 2015 tournament field. Regular season NWC champion Pacific Lutheran University was selected to the tournament and will travel to Georgia to compete in the South Regional as the No. 2 seed.

Click here to view the full tournament field<http://www.ncaa.com/news/baseball/article/2015-05-11/field-56-regionals-announced-2015-diii-baseball-championship>.

The 2015 Division III baseball tournament consists of 56 teams at eight regionals. Four regionals are six-team tournaments while the other four regionals each have eight teams. The tournaments all follow a double-elimination format. Champions of each regional will advance to the Division III World Series, held May 22-27 in Appleton, Wis.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 SWXRN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.