Shock Capture ArenaBowl with 69-57 Win Over Tampa Bay - SWX Right Now-Sports for Spokane, CdA, Tri-Cities, WA

Shock Capture ArenaBowl with 69-57 Win Over Tampa Bay

Posted: Updated:

Courtesy Spokane Shock

The Spokane Shock were crowned the 2010 ArenaBowl Champions after they defeated the Tampa Bay Storm 69-57 in front of 11,017 on Spokane Tribe Field.

The victory caps off Spokane's Cinderella season with the league's best record at 15-3 and its first in the AFL.

Tampa Bay struck pay dirt first with a three-yard rushing touchdown by FB Eric Ortiz. But Spokane fired right back with a touchdown of their own, thanks to a six-yard touchdown pass from QB Kyle Rowley to WR Huey Whittaker.

Spokane's defense set the tone for the rest of the game on the Storm's second drive. DL Jeremy Geathers broke through Tampa Bay's offensive line and sacked QB Brett Dietz, forcing a fumble. DL Richard Clebert recovered the fumble and returned it 35 yards to put Spokane's offense in scoring position once again.  Two plays later, Rowley found WR Markee White for a five-yard touchdown reception.

White continued to go on an offensive tear, leading the team with nine receptions for 99 yards with four touchdowns. Whittaker shared the spotlight, scoring four touchdowns, and recorded eight receptions for 82 yards.

Rowley finished the game completing 75% of his passes for 237 yards and nine touchdowns with no interceptions.

Dietz finished the game completing 73% of his passes for 306 yards with four touchdowns. DB Mervin Brookins and DB Travis Williams each recorded an interception against Dietz.

The Storm's receiving corps was led by WR Hank Edwards, who recorded a game-high 11 receptions for 132 yards. WR Tyrone Timmons was second on the team with eight receptions for 107 yards.

For the two-time af2 ArenaCup Champions, 2010 might have been a new year in a new league, but the results remain the same: the Spokane Shock are Champions.

 Attendance: 11,017

JLS Ironman of the Game: WR SPO – Huey Whittaker

Russell Athletic Offensive Player of the Game: SPO – WR Markee White

Spalding Highlight of the Game: SPO – WR Markee White, 2nd qtr touchdown

Riddell Defensive Player of the Game: SPO – DL Jeremy Geathers

Nifty Playmaker of the Game: SPO – WR Markee White

Cutter's Catch of the Game: SPO – WR Markee White

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 SWXRN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.