Idaho’s Kloke garners all-WAC honors - SWX Right Now-Sports for Spokane, CdA, Tri-Cities, WA

Idaho’s Kloke garners all-WAC honors

DENVER, Colo. – The Western Athletic Conference announced its women's postseason award winners on Sunday, and Idaho's Rachele Kloke earned her first career all-WAC accolades.

Kloke, a junior from Stanwood, Wash., had a breakout season in 2009-10 and the WAC's coaches rewarded her by voting her to the all-WAC second team. Her selection keeps alive an Idaho streak of 27 consecutive seasons with an all-conference honoree.

Kloke, a combo guard/post for Idaho, ranked fourth in WAC play with a 17.0 scoring average on 45.5 percent shooting. She also averaged 4.9 rebounds per game in conference play and led Idaho in scoring in 15 of the team's 29 games.

Kloke scored more than 25 points three times this season and scored double-digit points in 14 of the team's 16 conference games. Prior to this season, Kloke's career scoring average was 6.4 points on 34.9 percent shooting.

Last week, Kloke earned WAC Player of the Week honors after leading the Vandals to a 2-0 with a season- and career-high 28 points, the final three of which came on a buzzer-beating 3-pointer to give Idaho the win.

Idaho has earned seven second-team all-WAC honors since joining the league for the 2005-06 season. Kloke is the sixth different Vandal to be honored on the team.

The Idaho women finished the season 10-19 overall and 8-8 in WAC play, good for a fourth-place tie and the No. 4 seed at the WAC Tournament, which kicks off on Wednesday.


2009-10 WAC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards


Coach of the Year: Adrian Wiggins, Fresno State

Player of the Year: Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech

Defensive Player of the Year: Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State

Newcomer of the Year: Tahnee Robinson, Nevada


First-Team All-WAC:

Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech

Tasha Harris, Boise State

Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech

Tahnee Robinson, Nevada

Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State


Second-Team All-WAC:

Crystal Boyd, New Mexico State

Rachele Kloke, Idaho

Shavon Moore, Nevada

Hayley Munro, Fresno State

Amber White, Utah State


All-Defensive Team:

Alice Coddington, Utah State

Shanavia Dowdell, Louisiana Tech

Adrienne Johnson, Louisiana Tech

Shavon Moore, Nevada

Jaleesa Ross, Fresno State


All-Freshman Team:

Banna Diop, Utah State

Lauren Lenhardt, Boise State

Julia Marshall, Boise State

Rosie Moult, Fresno State

Camila Rosen, New Mexico State


University of Idaho Athletics

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 SWXRN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.