WAC honors Idaho men's basketball pair - SWX Right Now-Sports for Spokane, CdA, Tri-Cities, WA

WAC honors Idaho men's basketball pair

DENVER, Colo. - The Western Athletic Conference announced its 2009-10 men's basketball postseason honorees on Sunday and Idaho's Mac Hopson and Marvin Jefferson were among those selected.

Hopson, a senior from Portland, Ore., was chosen as all-WAC honorable mention after averaging 15.6 points, 5.9 rebounds, and 4.9 assists per game for the Vandals in WAC play. He earned three double-doubles this season and led the team in scoring 14 times.

The honor is the second of Hopson's career. He was a first-team all-WAC honoree last season and was chosen as a preseason first-team all-WAC honoree before the start of the 2009-10 year.

Jefferson, a senior from Merced, Calif., was chosen to the WAC all-defensive team for his first career postseason WAC honor. Jefferson's 60 blocked shots this season are the most by a Vandal in 27 years and rank third in Idaho history. With two more, he'll move into second all-time.

Earlier this year, Jefferson became just the third Idaho player to reach 100 career blocked shots, and had the school's sixth-best single-game blocking performance when he swatted six against Boise State on Jan. 25.

Jefferson joins Tanoris Shepard as the second Vandal to earn the WAC's all-defensive award. Shepard was honored after the 2006 season. Hopson's honor is the third all-WAC award earned by a Vandal. Jordan Brooks was also a second-team honoree in 2008.

The awards are voted upon by the league's coaches.

2009-10 Western Athletic Conference Award Winners

Don Haskins Coach of the Year: Stew Morrill, Utah State
Player of the Year: Luke Babbitt, Nevada
Freshman of the Year: Greg Smith, Fresno State

First-Team All-WAC
Luke Babbitt, Nevada
Jahmar Young, New Mexico State
Adrian Oliver, San Jose State
Jared Quayle, Utah State
Tai Wesley, Utah State

Second-Team All-WAC
Paul George, Fresno State
Kyle Gibson, Louisiana Tech
Magnum Rolle, Louisiana Tech
Armon Johnson, Nevada
Jonathan Gibson, New Mexico State

Honorable Mention All-WAC
Daequon Montreal, Boise State
Sylvester Seay, Fresno State
Roderick Flemings, Hawai`i
Mac Hopson, Idaho
Wendell McKines, New Mexico State

All-Defensive Team
Marvin Jefferson, Idaho
Kyle Gibson, Louisiana Tech
Magnum Rolle, Louisiana Tech
Dario Hunt, Nevada
Pooh Williams, Utah State

All-Newcomer Team
Daequon Montreal, Boise State
Greg Smith, Fresno State
DeAndre Brown, Louisiana Tech
Nate Bendall, Utah State
Brian Green, Utah State


University of Idaho Athletics

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 SWXRN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.