Home field advantage on the line in tonight's All-Star game - SWX Right Now-Sports for Spokane, CdA, Tri-Cities, WA


Home field advantage on the line in tonight's All-Star game

Posted: Updated:

ST. LOUIS - Like it or not, home-field advantage in the World Series will be on the line tonight when the National League All-Star team meets its American League counterpart in St. Louis.

The junior circuit will be working on a record 12-game unbeaten streak. The NL last won the Midsummer Classic in 1996. The two sides played to a tie in 2002 and the AL hasn't lost in six meetings since 2003, when the winning league started receiving home-field advantage in the Fall Classic.

After President Obama throws out the ceremonial first pitch, NL manager Charlie Manuel of the Phillies will hand the ball to Giants right-hander Tim Lincecum.

The reigning Cy Young Award winner is 10-2 with a 2.33 ERA and tied for the major league lead with 149 strikeouts. AL skipper Joe Maddon of the Rays will send Blue Jays ace Roy Halladay to the Busch Stadium mound. The veteran right-hander is 10-3 with a 2.85 ERA.

Tampa Bay third baseman Evan Longoria will not participate in tonight's game. An infected right ring finger will keep him out of the American League starting lineup. He's being replaced by Texas third baseman Michael Young.

Chone Figgins of the Anaheim Angels is taking Longoria's place on the AL roster. Young is a six-time All-Star who will be making his first start. He is batting .308 with 11 homers and 37 RBIs this season. Figgins, a first-time All-Star, is hitting .310 with one homer, 28 RBIs and an AL-leading 68 runs. Seattle right fielder Ichiro Suzuki leads off for the AL. He'll be followed by Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter, Minnesota catcher Joe Mauer and Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira in the cleanup spot. Boston left fielder Jason Bay will bat fifth, followed by Texas center fielder Josh Hamilton, Michael Young of the Rangers, Toronto second baseman Aaron Hill and then Halladay.

The NL batting order has Florida shortstop Hanley Ramirez leading off, with Philadelphia second baseman Chase Utley, St. Louis first baseman Albert Pujols and Milwaukee right fielder Ryan Braun to follow. Then it's Phillies left fielder Raul Ibanez in the five hole, followed by Mets third baseman David Wright, Phillies center fielder Shane Victorino, Cardinals catcher Yadier  Molina and Lincecum.

Powered by Frankly
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2018 SWXRN. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.